Planned Parenthood

Post-election, I shared my story to Planned Parenthood. You can give your own story here. The following is what I told them:

Planned Parenthood has been my most important health provider for the past 12 years. When I became sexually active with my boyfriend (now husband) I was uninsured and working part-time while going to college. Planned Parenthood’s health professionals gave me pelvic exams, cancer screenings, disease screenings, birth control options, and all the information I needed to be healthy. I paid on a sliding scale, which wasn’t an option for me if I’d gone to a private OBGYN. Through two moves across the country, insurance coverage and insurance loss, and a years-long struggle with underemployment, Planned Parenthood gave me access to highly effective methods of prescription birth control. Thanks to Planned Parenthood, we have never had to deal with an unplanned pregnancy. Thanks to Planned Parenthood, I have never had to choose between getting an abortion, dropping out of college, or giving a child up for adoption. When my husband and I do choose to have children, we are able to give them the best life possible, and it’s because of the services provided only by Planned Parenthood. I now have health coverage and can visit any OBGYN I’d like, and I choose to be a patient at Planned Parenthood because of their continued level of professionalism, and because I believe in their mission of making basic health services accessible to all.

Leave a Reply

